Library: Chemistry: Guide Home

Chemistry Research Starter

Some ways to start research are:

Consult reference books and databases (encyclopedias, Credo Reference)
Find print and e-books (library collection, EBSCO E-book Collection)
Search journal indexes and databases for articles (Academic Search Complete, Gale databases)

These tasks can be done in any order, but reference books are a good starting place to find an overview of a topic or to look up basic facts quickly. Books and journal articles will contain more in-depth information. There may be more commentary in journals or magazines than in books if the topic is very recent.

Frequently-used Resources

Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations include links to full-text content from South College Library.

Journals

Journal of Medicinal Chemistry This link opens in a new window

Journal Collections

ChemRxiv This link opens in a new window ChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and respond to comments and recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication. It covers any aspect of the Chemical Sciences
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on general health & medicine, pharmacology, neurology, molecular biology, genetics and genomics, histology, microbiology and many other subject domains. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 2,000 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,980 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1809 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Complete is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window The Springer eJournal collection includes more than 2,400 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, business, engineering, medicine, and the social sciences. Coverage for most journals is from the first issue to the current issue. Full-text available.

Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Science Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window

Print books on chemistry are likely to have shelving numbers starting with the following letters:

Q - Science (General)
QD - Chemistry
- QD1-65 - General
- QD146-197 - Inorganic Chemistry
- QD241-441 - Organic Chemistry
  - QD415-436 - Biochemistry

Search Engines

Google Scholar Use this tool to search through millions of scholarly articles on the web. If you have an article title, searching it in google scholar is the quickest way to find out if it available online for free.

The episodic table of elements
The history class visits the chemistry lab to explore wild tales of scientific adventure that stretch back to the beginning of time itself.
Science Weekly
Weekly podcast on current science events.
Royal Society of Chemistry
Learn about the story behind each element
Chemistry World
Chemical stories, interviews, news and opinions
The Science Hour
Science news and highlights of the week

Free Chemistry Resources on the Web

Chemistry Lectures
Free chemistry video lectures from Academic Earth.
Chemistry Glossary
http://www.shodor.org/unchem/glossary.html
General Chemistry Online
General chemistry resource provides answers to questions, tutorials, glossaries, and more.
Interactive Periodic Table
An interactive periodic table of the elements from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Visual Elements Periodic Table
Video library for the elements from the Royal Society of Chemistry and University of Nottingham.
Visualization and Problem Solving for General Chemistry
General Chemistry resource from Purdue University

Biochemistry Online
E-book by Dr. Henry Jakubowski of College of St. Benedict, St. John’s University.
The Biology Project: Biochemistry
Biochemistry resources from the University of Arizona.
ChemWiki: The Dynamic Chemistry Textbook > Biological Chemistry
Online textbook provided by the University of California Davis.

Organic Chemistry Lectures
Free organic chemistry video lectures from Academic Earth.
eMolecules
Structure search builder, named chemicals search, and compounds search.
Virtual Textbook from Michigan State University

Subject Librarian

James Gill

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

South College Library
3904 Lonas Dr.
Knoxville, TN 37909

865.251.1832

Subjects: Criminal Justice, General Education, Legal Studies, Psychology, Sciences