Are you going to take a challenge exam, a standardized test -- such as the GMAT, GRE, LSAT, or MCAT -- or a test for entry into nursing school or for professional certification, such as the NCLEX or PRAXIS exams?
This guide includes some of the many library resources to help prepare for such tests and maximize the chance of success on the first try.
Do you plan to take a South College challenge exam? Challenge Exam study guides can be obtained from Admissions representatives or any South College Library or Resource Center.
Check out some of these resources for information on standardized tests and certification exams, as well as basic skills practice in writing, mathematics, and computers.
Library database:
Ebooks are primarily available through the EBSCO ebook databases.
Location and availability of print books can be found in the library collection.
Search keywords include: examination questions, examinations, study guides, test prep, or test preparation.
A selection of ebooks from the library's collection:
Testing resources on the web include both free and fee-based resources. Resources include information and study materials available through the organizations that create and administer the tests. Others are publishers of test preparation materials.
Tennessee residents have access to Tennessee Electronic Library, a collection of over 60 databases, through the state of Tennessee.
In addition to general library databases, TEL includes resources for career prep and test prep. Use the Career Tools section to explore careers, build a resume, and improve workplace skills. The Test Prep section provides resources and practice tests for occupational exams including those for many South College programs (CDA, PRAXIS, PTA, TEAS, etc.).
Peterson's Career Prep included personalized career assessments, comprehensive career information, and resume editing software.
Peterson's Test and Career Prep includes full-length, timed practice exams, diagnostic pre-tests for preparing for an exam, college planning resources, and career development tools.
North Carolina residents have access to NC LIVE, a collection of over 90 databases and other online resources, through the state of North Carolina. NC Live registration is available to students and faculty through membership in their local public library.
In addition to general library databases, NC LIVE includes resources for career and test prep. Use the Career, Jobs, & Test Prep section to explore careers, build a resume, and access practice tests for occupational exams including those for many South College programs (PRAXIS, PTA, TEAS, etc.).
Recommended:
NC LIVE provides access to Transparent Language Online for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. They offer over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages.
Georgia residents have access to GALILEO, a collection of over 100 databases and other online resources, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. GALILEO registration is available to students and faculty through membership in their local public library.
In addition to general library databases, GALILEO includes resources for career and test prep. Recommended resources include:
Indiana residents have access to INSPIRE, a collection of over 70 databases and online resources, through the state of Indiana. INSPIRE is a collection of online academic databases and other information resources that can be accessed by Indiana residents.
In addition to general library databases, INSPIRE includes resources for career and test prep. Recommended resources include:
Florida residents have access to Florida Electronic Library, a collection of over 70 databases and other online resources, through the state of Florida. Registration is available to students and faculty through membership in their local Florida public library.
In addition to general library databases, Florida Electronic Library includes resources for career and test prep. Use the Career & Jobs section to explore careers, build a resume, and access practice tests for occupational exams.
Pennsylvania residents have access to POWER Library, a collection of 35 databases and online resources, through the State Library of Pennsylvania. POWER Library registration is available online to all Pennsylvania residents or through membership in participating public libraries.
In addition to general library databases, POWER Library includes resources for career and test prep. Use the PA Jobs Resources section to explore careers, build a resume, and access online job skills training.
Certified Paralegal Exam Fundamentals by 
Medical Assistant Exam Prep Study Guide by 
Jones & Bartlett Learning's medical assisting exam review for national certification exams by 