Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics: Guide Home

Physics Research Starter

Physics Research Starter

Some ways to start research are:

  • Consult reference books and databases (encyclopedias, Credo Reference)
  • Find print and e-books (library catalog, EBSCO E-book Collection, ProQuest eBook Central)
  • Search journal indexes and databases for articles (ProQuest Central, Gale databases from TEL)

These tasks can be done in any order, but reference books are a good starting place to find an overview of a topic or to look up basic facts quickly. Books and journal articles will contain more in-depth information.  There may be more commentary in journals or magazines than in books if the topic is very recent.

Frequently-used Resources

Reference databases and books

Journals

Journal Collections

All library print journals will be listed in the library catalog.

Books and Ebooks

Print books will be listed in the library catalog.

Print books on physics are likely to have shelving numbers starting with the following letters:

  • Q - Science (General)
  • QB - Astronomy
    • QB460-466 - Astrophysics
  • QC - Physics
    • QC1-75 - General
    • QC81-114 - Weights and measures
    • QC120-168.85 - Descriptive and experimental mechanics
    • QC170-197 - Atomic physics. Constitution and properties of matter
    • QC221-246 - Acoustics. Sound
    • QC474-496.9 - Radiation physics (General)
    • QC501-766 - Electricity and magnetism
    • QC770-798 - Nuclear and particle physics. Atomic energy. Radioactivity
    • QC801-809 - Geophysics. Cosmic physics
    • QC811-849 - Geomagnetism
    • QC851-999 - Meteorology. Climatology

Search Engines

Free Physics Resources on the Web

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
James Gill
Contact:
Lonas Campus Library
3904 Lonas Drive
Knoxville, TN 37909
jgill@south.edu
(865) 251-1832