Available at Asheville

Mastering grammar is now easier than ever with this fully illustrated guide that covers the most important rules in grammar and punctuation--making even the most confusing rules easy to understand. This illustrated guide to English grammar gives you everything you need for a better understanding of how to write and punctuate correctly. From proper comma usage to the correct form of there, their, or they're--understanding grammar has never been easier. Is it who or whom? Affect or effect? And what is a prepositional phrase? With The Infographic Guide to Grammar, you'll learn the answers to all of these questions, and so much more. Filled with colorful, easy-to-understand entries, this book includes topics like: -Basic sentence structure -The parts of speech -Common mistakes and how to avoid them Featuring 50 vibrant infographics explaining everything from subject-verb agreement to the Oxford comma and verb tenses this book breaks down the complicated rules and guidelines for writing the English language and makes them clear and straightforward.

Available at Atlanta

Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements?facts common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date?that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts?middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields?the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers ? New guidance on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, and abbreviations ? A new chapter on principles of inclusive language ? Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group projects ? Revised, easy-to-use, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format ? A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more ? Guidance on finding publication information in a variety of sources ? Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work ? Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes ? Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism ? Annotated bibliography examples ? Numbered sections keyed to a subject index for quick navigation ? Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars

Available at Lonas

This best-selling sentence-level worktext by John Langan continues to help students master the essential grammar, mechanics, punctuation, and usage skills needed for clear, thoughtful writing. The ninth edition of Sentence Skills features new writing assignments, review tests, and references.

Available at Lonas

Written in a clear, engaging style, this 4-in-1 volume combines four books -- a rhetoric, a research guide, a reader, and a handbook -- into one convenient learning/reference tool. The Rhetoric section presents a full range of writing strategies, along with chapters on paragraphs, sentences, style, and three specialized types of writing, and in-depth chapters on planning and drafting, as well as revising and editing a paper. The Research Guide section includes three comprehensive chapters on the research process. The Reader section contains forty-four essays that illustrate the different writing strategies and display a wide variety of styles, tones, and themes. The Handbook section offers easy access to the major elements of grammar, punctuation, and mechanics, and includes a unit on spelling and a glossary of word usage.

Available in Lonas

The newest edition of Jan Venolia's best-selling guide, Write Right! is an essential resource for writers with 500,000+ copies sold since publication. In this age of electronic correspondence and self-produced documents, we need a useful and reliable writing guide more than ever. Write Right! covers the essentials of good writing in a concise and easy-to-follow format. The new edition of this classic handbook takes you through the entire writing process, from understanding the parts of speech to constructing a correct sentence to fine-tuning the mechanics. And with clever drawings and amusing quotations to illustrate its points, Write Right! shows that language can be fun as well as an effective communication tool. Whether it's used to find a quick answer to a nagging question or to develop stronger writing skills, this handy reference is the ideal resource for writers of all levels. Includes a resource section with a list of helpful websites and a glossary to quickly define difficult terms.