Skip to Main Content

Legal Studies Programs: Library Resources

Resources for students in South College Legal Studies program.

Library Resources

Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window

Links

These are links to other electronic resources available to Legal Studies students:

GreenFILE EBSCO: Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
NC LIVE
*Login required*
Resources provided by North Carolina public libraries for NC residents. Please contact the Asheville Resource Center for more information.
Westlaw
*Login required*
This is a legal database that is only available to current South College Legal Studies students, who will receive logins from the School of Legal Studies.

Constitution USA with Peter Sagal videos

Constitution USA with Peter Sagal - Watch Online
Watch Constitution USA episodes online here.
Constitution USA with Peter Sagal - Official Website
Official series website.
Constitution USA with Peter Sagal - PBS website

Academic Video Online

RBG This link opens in a new window

Dicta This link opens in a new window
Sage Open This link opens in a new window SAGE Open is a peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window

Individual Ebooks

Criminal Justice in America: The Encyclopedia of Crime, Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections This link opens in a new window
Doing Justice : A Prosecutor's Thoughts on Crime, Punishment, and the Rule of Law This link opens in a new window
A History of American Law This link opens in a new window
First: Sandra Day O'Connor This link opens in a new window
Long's A Short & Happy Guide to Advanced Legal Research This link opens in a new window
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law : Answers to Your Most Frequently Asked Legal Questions This link opens in a new window
Paralegal Career for Dummies This link opens in a new window
The Supreme Court A to Z This link opens in a new window
This book offers accessible information about the Supreme Court, including its history, traditions, organization, dynamics, and personalities.

Ebook Collections

Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window

Print Book Holdings

Any print books related to legal topics are likely to be located in the following Library of Congress call number areas:

H: Social Sciences (General).
HM: Sociology (General).
HN: Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform.
HQ: The family. Marriage. Women.
HT: Communities. Classes. Races.
HV: Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology.
K: Law in general. Comparative and uniform law. Jurisprudence.
KF: Law of the United States.
KFN 7401-7999: [Law of] North Carolina.
KFT 1-599: [Law of] Tennessee.