Skip to main content

English Literature: Guide Home

A research guide for English literature courses at South College

Research Starter

English Literature Research Starter

Once you have already read the source material, one way to conduct literature research is:

  • Consult reference books and databases (encyclopedias, Credo Reference, Oxford Companion to Children's Literature)
  • Find print and e-books (library catalog, EBSCO E-book Collection)
  • Search journal indexes and databases for articles (Gale databases from TEL)

These tasks can be done in any order, but reference books are a good starting place to find an overview of a topic or to look up basic facts quickly. Books and journal articles will contain more in-depth information.  There may be more commentary in journals or magazines than in books if the topic is very recent.

Frequently-used Resources

Reference databases and books

Journals

Journal Collections

All library print journals will be listed in the library catalog.

Individual Ebooks

Ebook Collections

Print books will be listed in the library catalog.

Print books on language and literature are likely to have shelving numbers starting with the following letters:

  • P - Philology. Linguistics
  • PE - English Language
  • PN - Literature (General)
  • PR - English Literature
  • PS - American Literature
  • PZ - Fiction and juvenile belles lettres

Search Engines

Subject Librarian

James Gill's picture
James Gill
Contact:
Lonas Campus Library
3904 Lonas Drive
Knoxville, TN 37909
jgill@south.edu
(865) 251-1832

Subject Librarian

Anya McKinney's picture
Anya McKinney
Contact:
3904 Lonas Dr.
Knoxville, TN 37909
865-251-1832
Skype Contact: amckinney@south.edu