Library: Medical Terminology: Guide Home

Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine

Understanding Medical Words
A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
Understanding Medical Words: Word Parts and What They Mean
Appendix A of the National Library of Medicine Tutorial
Understanding Medical Words: Common Abbreviations
Appendix B of the National Library of Medicine Tutorial

Common Medical Terminology Abbreviations
A list of commonly used med terms abbreviations provided by MedlinePlus.gov
Dangerous Abbreviations
List of commonly misread abbreviations from the National Coordinating Council for Medication Error Reporting and Prevention.
How J Say
Free online talking dictionary of English pronunciation. Great for pronunciation practice of med terms.
Medical Terminology A thru Z
Comprehensive alphabetical list of prefixes, roots, and suffixes
MedSpeak
Medical dictionary created by the Medical Library Association.
MedTerms Medical Dictionary
MedicineNet.com free dictionary
Merck Manual Dictionary of Pronunciations
Merriam Webster Medical Dictionary
This medical dictionary is a component of MedlinePlus, provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Also includes information on medical terminology.
Understanding Medical Terms from the Merck Manual
Word Parts and What They Mean
A list of word parts. They may be at the beginning, in the middle, or at the end of a medical word.

A selection of library ebooks on Med Terms:

Adult and Children's Health Encyclopedia
Health Encyclopedia from University of Rochester Medical Center
Medical Encyclopedia
Medical encyclopedia from University of Maryland Medical Center
MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia

Cancer & Medical Terminology
SEER training module from the National Cancer Institute
How to Approach Medical Terminology
The Penguin Prof's College Success Series
Medical Terms - Test Maker
Question bank for all grade levels - build medical terminology tests from Help Teaching.
Med Terms
Test your knowledge of prefixes, suffixes, and roots with this page created by the University of Minnesota.
Online Medical Terminology Course
Free online course from Des Moines University
ProProfs Interesting Medical Terminology Words Quiz
Sporcle: Medical Terminology Trivia, Quizzes, and Games

InterActive Medical Terminology
Includes free medical terminology interactive exercises in British and American English.