Along with tutorials, this site provides multiple-choice, true-false, and drag-and-drop quizzes for the muscular, respiratory, urinary, cardiovascular, reproductive, lymphatic, endocrine, skeletal, nervous, digestive, and reproductive systems. It also includes a section on cells, tissues, and membranes.
For each muscle, it provides an image that highlights the muscle and provides information on origin, insertion, action, and innervation. Muscles are listed in alphabetical order or by region.
One section provides "cut-away views of the front, side and top of the entire male body." The other section labels anatomic objects in the male chest area.
Images for cross-sections of the following regions: head & neck, upper limb, thorax, abdomen, pelvis, and lower limb. Includes male and female thorax and pelvis cross-sections.
Shows an image of the cross-section of a typical bone and provides anatomical information. Labels a skeletal diagram and lists bone names along with their common names. Clicking on a bone name provides the Latin origin and meaning for the name.
Includes animations on hearing, heart circulation, and invasions of bacteria and viruses. Includes modules on obesity, cancer, neuroscience, cardiovascular, DNA, RNA, biological clocks, infectious diseases, immunology, and genomics and chemical genetics.
Interactive exercises allow you to examine cell structures, see the stages of mitosis, and learn about the immune system, cell structure and function, and microbes.
In this activity, you must match bases to make two new DNA strands, match DNA and RNA bases to make a mRNA strand, and match tRNA anticodons to mRNA codons. Requires Adobe Shockwave to run properly.
Includes "over 1,500 light microscopy images and electron microscopy images (colorized and black & white)" of bacteria, viruses, protozoa, fungi, and other organisms.
Includes animations of normal phagocytosis by a macrophage, a macrophage being infected by yersinia pestis, and a macrophage being infected by mycobacterium tuberculosis.
Clips show the penetration of blood cells by a parasite and the sticky bumps that help infected blood cells stick to artery walls. Also includes a clip of gene targeting of infected blood cells.
