Library: Dental Programs: Databases, Books and Journals

Databases & Journals

Dentistry & Oral Science Source This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
HSTalks: The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
ASHP Patient Medication Information This link opens in a new window

Dimensions of Dental Hygiene
A free peer-reviewed online journal. All articles are available. Articles may appear inaccessible, but can still be accessed by clicking on them. Articles are also available in a flip-book version at the bottom of the page of each issue.

Journal of the American Dental Association This link opens in a new window
Introduced in 1913, the monthly The Journal of the American Dental Association is the nation's premier dental journal - a reliable, peer-reviewed source of information on dentistry and dental science.
Journal of Dental Education This link opens in a new window
International Journal of Dental Hygiene This link opens in a new window

eBooks

ADA Dental Drug Handbook: A Quick Reference This link opens in a new window
The ADA Dental Drug Handbook contains the latest information from dental pharmacology's leading experts. Intended for use by practicing dentists, students, dental educators, it covers the drugs most commonly used in the dental practice, with information about dosage, possible interactions, potential complications and more.

CHAPTER: Dental Disorders - Approach to the Dental Patient
From the Merck Manual. Accessed through the STAT!Ref database.

ADA Practical Guide: The ADA Practical Guide to Patients with Medical Conditions This link opens in a new window
Atlas of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology This link opens in a new window
Basic Guide to Anatomy and Physiology for Dental Care Professionals This link opens in a new window
Basic Guide Dentistry Series: Basic Guide to Infection Prevention and Control in Dentistry This link opens in a new window
Basic Guide to Dental Radiography This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window Credo Reference cover 11,000+ reference topics from all major academic subject areas and is a great starting point for research. Entries include images, quotations, audio files, videos, ebooks and full text articles on a variety of topics. In addition to reference topics, Credo includes over 700 academic reference books. Credo's Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to 23 current nursing ebooks.
Clinical Cases in Dental Hygiene This link opens in a new window
Dental Care and Oral Health Sourcebook This link opens in a new window
Dental Assistants and Hygienists: A Practical Career Guide This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window Search and view the library's full text ebook collection from EBSCO. The collection of 280,000+ titles covers all subject areas from general studies to allied health and medicine.
Evidence-based Dentistry for the Dental Hygienist This link opens in a new window
This book is intended as a textbook for dental hygienists to learn the importance of evidence-based dentistry (EBD) in the practice of dental hygiene as well as how to implement EBD practices and share EBD findings among office staff.
Infectious Diseases: The Clinician's Guide to Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prevention This link opens in a new window
Infection Control in the Dental Office: A Global Perspective This link opens in a new window
Management of Dental Emergencies in Children and Adolescents This link opens in a new window
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office This link opens in a new window
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 7th Edition helps you learn the skills needed to manage medical emergencies in the dental office or clinic.
Modern Dental Assisting This link opens in a new window
3 User Concurrent Access
Learn dental assisting top to bottom from the best, with the most comprehensive, most current, and most trusted text available.
Orthodontic Handbook for Dental Assistants This link opens in a new window
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Dental Professions This link opens in a new window
Be it dentistry, dental assisting, or dental hygiene, this book is the go-to resource for all students and professionals in the dental field.
Writing Patient/Client Notes This link opens in a new window

Reference Books

Reference books can be found in the resource center. These include medical dictionaries, drug books, encyclopedias, and handbooks. Reference titles are available for reading, but not for checkout. Below is what's currently available:

Clinical Aspects of Dental Materials by Marcia Gladwin
ISBN: 9781496360083
Publication Date: 2017-11-24
Using a proven pedagogical organization, this updated Fifth Edition of Gladwin and Bagby's market-leading title focuses on providing students with a dental materials background that emphasizes the clinical aspects of dental materials, while also introducing concepts of materials science.
Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist by Esther M. Wilkins; Charlotte J. Wyche; Linda D. Boyd
ISBN: 9781451193114
Publication Date: 2016-01-13
Considered the cornerstone text in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, 12e helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment.
Community Oral Health Practice for the Dental Hygienist by Christine French Beatty
ISBN: 9780323355254
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Community Oral Health Practice for the Dental Hygienist, 4th Edition, helps you acquire the skills to improve the oral health of people throughout various communities and build a successful career in the public health sector.
Essentials of Dental Radiography for Dental Assistants and Hygienists by Evelyn Thomson; Orlen Johnson
ISBN: 9780134460741
Publication Date: 2017-01-06
Comprehensive coverage of the theoretical principles and practical skills needed to perform radiographic exams competently and safely.
Ethics, Jurisprudence and Practice Management in Dental Hygiene by Vickie J. Kimbrough-Walls; Charla J. Lautar
ISBN: 9780131394926
Publication Date: 2011-01-04
ETHICS, JURISPRUDENCE AND PRACTICE MANAGEMENT IN DENTAL HYGIENE, 3/e is the definitive, up-to-date guide to ethics, jurisprudence, and practice management for all dental hygiene students, new graduates, and licensed practitioners.
Foundation of Periodontics Dental Hygienist by Jill S. Gehrig
ISBN: 9781496384027
Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Comprehensive and easy-to-understand, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, 5th Edition equips dental hygiene students with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classifications of periodontal disease.
Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team by Chris H. Miller
ISBN: 9780323400619
Publication Date: 2017-01-19
Emphasizing patient safety and disease prevention in the dental office, Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team, 6th Edition, is a go-to text for all members of the dental team.
Patient Assessment Tutorials by Jill S. Gehrig
ISBN: 9781496335005
Publication Date: 2017-01-12
This updated 4th Edition of Jill Gehrig's highly visual, step-by-step guide takes dental hygienists-in-training through the process of patient assessment, emphasizing both the actual physical assessment and the human interaction involved.
White and Pharoah's Oral Radiology by Sanjay Mallya; Ernest Lam
ISBN: 9780323543835
Publication Date: 2018-11-08
Written specifically for dentists, White and Pharoah's Oral Radiology: Principles and Interpretation 8th Edition incorporates over 1,500 high-quality radiographic images and illustrations to demonstrate core concepts and essential principles and techniques of oral and maxillofacial radiology.
Woelfels Dental Anatomy by Gabriela Weiss; Rickne C. Scheid
ISBN: 9781496320223
Publication Date: 2016-02-27
Using clear explanations, a unique three-part organization, full-color illustrations, and interactive exercises, Woelfel's Dental Anatomy, 9e helps dental hygiene students understand the relationship of the teeth to one another and to the bones, muscles, nerves, and vessels associated with the teeth and face.

Dental Programs: Databases, Books and Journals

Databases & Journals

Search the Library Collections

eBooks

Reference Books