Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry Research Starter
Chemistry Research Starter
Some ways to start research are:
- Consult reference books and databases (encyclopedias, Credo Reference)
- Find print and e-books (library catalog, EBSCO E-book Collection)
- Search journal indexes and databases for articles (Gale databases from TEL)
These tasks can be done in any order, but reference books are a good starting place to find an overview of a topic or to look up basic facts quickly. Books and journal articles will contain more in-depth information. There may be more commentary in journals or magazines than in books if the topic is very recent.
Reference databases and books
Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations include links to full-text content from South College Library.
ChemRxiv This link opens in a new windowChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.
It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and respond to comments and recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication. It covers any aspect of the Chemical Sciences
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window Description of this database.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on general health & medicine, pharmacology, neurology, molecular biology, genetics and genomics, histology, microbiology and many other subject domains. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 2,000 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,980 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1809 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Complete is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window The Springer eJournal collection includes more than 2,400 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, business, engineering, medicine, and the social sciences. Coverage for most journals is from the first issue to the current issue. Full-text available.
Print books will be listed in the library catalog.
Print books on chemistry are likely to have shelving numbers starting with the following letters:
- Q - Science (General)
- QD - Chemistry
- QD1-65 - General
- QD146-197 - Inorganic Chemistry
- QD241-441 - Organic Chemistry
Free Chemistry Resources on the Web