Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physical Science Research Starter
Physical Science Research Starter
Some ways to start research are:
- Consult reference books and databases (encyclopedias, Credo Reference)
- Find print and e-books (library catalog, EBSCO E-book Collection)
- Search journal indexes and databases for articles (Gale databases from TEL)
These tasks can be done in any order, but reference books are a good starting place to find an overview of a topic or to look up basic facts quickly. Books and journal articles will contain more in-depth information. There may be more commentary in journals or magazines than in books if the topic is very recent.
Reference databases and books
CINAHL Complete CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
MEDLINE Complete MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on general health & medicine, pharmacology, neurology, molecular biology, genetics and genomics, histology, microbiology and many other subject domains. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 2,000 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,980 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1809 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Complete is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
ProQuest Central A multi-disciplinary collection of 40 ProQuest databases providing access full text content across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
ScienceDirect This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
SpringerLink Journals The Springer eJournal collection includes more than 2,400 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, business, engineering, medicine, and the social sciences. Coverage for most journals is from the first issue to the current issue. Full-text available.
Wiley Online Library: Journals Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1700 journals.
Note: Full-text access for which the Library has a subscription is identified by an open lock.
All library print journals will be listed in the library catalog.
Credo Reference and Ebooks Credo Reference cover 11,000+ reference topics from all major academic subject areas and is a great starting point for research. Entries include images, quotations, audio files, videos, ebooks and full text articles on a variety of topics.
In addition to reference topics, Credo includes over 700 academic reference books. Credo's Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to 23 current nursing ebooks.
EBSCO Ebook Collection Search and view the library's full text ebook collection from EBSCO. The collection of 37,000+ titles covers all subject areas from general studies to allied health and medicine.
Print books will be listed in the library catalog.
Print books on physical sciences are likely to have shelving numbers starting with the following letters:
- G - Geography. Anthropology. Recreation
- G - Geography (General). Atlases. Maps
- GB - Physical geography
- GC - Oceanography
- GE - Environmental Sciences
- Q - Science
- Q - Science (General)
- QB - Astronomy
- QC - Physics
- QC1-75 - General
- QC81-114 - Weights and measures
- QC120-168.85 - Descriptive and experimental mechanics
- QC170-197 - Atomic physics. Constitution and properties of matter
- QC221-246 - Acoustics. Sound
- QC474-496.9 - Radiation physics (General)
- QC501-766 - Electricity and magnetism
- QC770-798 - Nuclear and particle physics. Atomic energy. Radioactivity
- QC801-809 - Geophysics. Cosmic physics
- QC811-849 - Geomagnetism
- QC851-999 - Meteorology. Climatology
- QE - Geology