Library: DMS Sonography Programs: Guide Home

Library Resources

Health Science Journal Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Health Source Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window

Ebook Databases - Ebooks, Interactives, & Other Resources

AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window

Journals

Cardiovascular Ultrasound This link opens in a new window
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Journal of the American College of Radiology This link opens in a new window
Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography This link opens in a new window
Journal of Interprofessional Education & Practice This link opens in a new window
Journal of Medical Ultrasound This link opens in a new window
Journal of Therapeutic Ultrasound This link opens in a new window
Journal of Ultrasound This link opens in a new window
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Ultrasound International Open This link opens in a new window
The Ultrasound Journal This link opens in a new window

Journal Collections

LWW PA & RN Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window

Ebooks

Decker: Medicine This link opens in a new window
Medical Imaging for the Health Care Provider This link opens in a new window
Merck Manual - Professional Version This link opens in a new window

Ebook Collections

Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window

Subject Areas

In the library collection, relevant books on sonography can be found in these call number areas:

QM: Human Anatomy.

R 5-864: Medicine (General).

R895-920: Medical physics. Medical radiology. Nuclear Medicine.

RC71-78.7: Examination. Diagnosis: Including sonography.

A Selection of Books in the Library Collection

Callen's Ultrasonography in Obstetrics and Gynecology by Peter W. Callen; Mary E. Norton; Leslie M. Scoutt; Vickie A. Feldstein
Call Number: REF RG 527.5 .U48 U47 2017
ISBN: 9780323328340
Publication Date: 2016-09-02
Get outstanding guidance from the world's most trusted reference on OB/GYN ultrasound.
Essentials of Sonography and Patient Care by Marveen Craig; M. Robert de Jong
Call Number: RC 78.7 .U4 C68 2013
ISBN: 9781437735451
Publication Date: 2012-05-17
Providing a solid foundation in sonography, Essentials of Sonography and Patient Care, 3rd Edition prepares you to succeed in the classroom and in practice.
Sonography Scanning by M. Robert deJong Scanning principles and step-by-step instructions on how to scan and document images helps students improve the quality of sonographic studies and establish standardization and image documentation for physician diagnostic interpretation. Sonographic ergonomics and proper use of equipment helps students avoid occupational injuries. Scanning protocol for pathology provides the criteria for evaluating and documenting abnormal sonographic findings, describing those findings within legal parameters, and relating those findings to the interpreting physician. Key words and objectives at the beginning of every chapter notify students of the pertinent information in the following chapter. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest ARDMS standards and AIUM guidelines. NEW! Thoroughly updated scanning protocols follow AIUM guidelines and offer essential information on patient preparation, transducers, breathing techniques, comprehensive surveys, and required images. NEW! Flexible soft cover makes it easy to take notes and transport content.
ISBN: 9780323597388
Publication Date: 2020-11-19
Textbook of Diagnostic Sonography by Sandra L. Hagen-Ansert
Call Number: REF RC 78.7 .U4 H33 2018
ISBN: 9780323353755
Publication Date: 2017-04-19
Updated to reflect the newest curriculum standards, Textbook of Diagnostic Sonography, 8th Edition provides you with the pertinent information needed for passing the boards.

Videos

Abdominal Sonography Anatomy Overview and Scan Fundamentals This link opens in a new window
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Anatomy and Physiology Channel (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Bedside Sonography: Venous Imaging This link opens in a new window
Lower Extremity Venous Imaging: Anatomy and Hemodynamics This link opens in a new window
Medical Imaging Channel (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Introduction To Gross Anatomy for Medicine Channel (HSTalks) This link opens in a new window
Ultrasound Channel (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Ultrasound Evaluation of the Ankle and Foot This link opens in a new window
Ultrasound Evaluation of the Wrist and Hand This link opens in a new window
Upper Extremity Venous Imaging This link opens in a new window

Videos Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
HSTalks: The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window

Anatomy & Physiology Revealed This link opens in a new window
An interactive cadaver dissection experience. This unique multimedia study aid is designed to help you explore human anatomy using cadaver specimens and master physiology concepts through animation. Digital dissections allow unlimited drill and practice - anytime, anywhere. Detailed information and audio pronunciations build anatomical knowledge, and comprehensive quizzing reinforces learning.
Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.

MyAccess Registration Guide

Free Web Resources

Resources on anatomy, physiology, and pathology that pertains to ultrasound.

Top Picks

Sonography

Khan Academy - The effects of ultrasound on different tissue types
Khan Academy - Using ultrasounds to measure blood flow velocity
Selected Guided Ultrasound Procedures
By the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine.
Sonography: OSHA Ergonomics Risks
SonoWorld

Resources on Sonography Safety

Safety Assurance in Obstetrical Ultrasound
Miller, D. (2008). Semin Ultrasound CT MR, 29(2), 156–164.
Safety Issues in Fetal Ultrasound
This site was created by Dr. David A. Toms, MD, FRCPC.

Ultrasound

OBGYN.net: Abnormal Obstetrical Ultrasound
Obstetric Ultrasound
Ultrasound Image Gallery
A gallery of high-resolution, ultrasound, color doppler and 3D images.
Ultrasound Imaging News
Recent articles from Imaging Technology News.
Ultrasound Podcast
The Ultrasound Site

Anatomy & Other Resources for Sonography

Anatomy and Physiology
An anatomy and physiology training module by the National Institutes of Health.
Anatomy Atlases
A anatomy digital library curated by Ronald A. Bergman, Ph.D.
Khan Academy - Anatomy and Physiology
The New Living Body
A collection of nine 20-minute videos on various bodily systems and functions from Lammas Science. Each clip features live action and medical imaging.
TED-Ed Human Body
Animated TED talks on body functions.

Echocardiographer
Echocardiographic Equations
Created for the Robert Wood Johnson Medical School by Dr. Daniel Shindler.

Nuchal Translucency Quality Review

Medical Terminology Resources
Check out the library's guide on med terms, including dictionaries, quizzes, flashcards, and apps.

Podcasts

Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography
presenting the latest diagnostic techniques and interpretation methods, case reports, research applications, and the newest hardware/software technologies and equipment in a variety of specialty areas, including abdominal, breast, echocardiography, neurosonology, OB/GYN, and vascular sonography.
The Sonography Lounge Podcast
Podcast covering industry trends, new technology, career paths, and interviews to offer sound insights into the ever-evolving field of ultrasound.
Sonographers Spill the Tea Podcast
A real look into the world of sonography covering job information, risks, patient care, cases, and more.

Skills for Sonographers

Emergency Ultrasonography
A didactic site with more than a dozen lectures and multitude of cases. Created by Dr. Geoffrey Hayden.
Sonography Positioning Patients and Equipment
Body posture concepts, positioning and adjusting patients and equipment.
SonoSite
A collection of sonography videos brought to you by Fujifilm.
Ultrasound: Basic understanding and learning the language
Ihnatsenka, B. & Boezaart, A.P. (2010). Int J Shoulder Surg., 4(3), 55–62.
Ultrasound Cases
The site is developed as a teaching file. It contains a large number of general ultrasound cases from the teaching files from the Gelderse Vallei Hospital in Ede, the Netherlands.
Ultrasound Videos
A collection of six videos on emergency ultrasound procedures brought to you by Emergency Medicine: Reviews and Perspectives.

Library Orientation

Imaging Sciences Orientation This link opens in a new window

This orientation module is focused on Imaging Sciences resources. For a general library orientation, please choose one of the location-based orientations on the library's Orientations page.