Library: General Science Resources: Guide Home

Research Starter

Here is a list of the most useful sources for general sciences. Some strategies for getting your research started are:

Consult reference books and databases for an overview of a topic or quick information.
Find books and e-books from the library collection and e-book databases for in-depth information.
Search journal databases and indexes for articles with the most current research.

Search Engines

Google Scholar Use this tool to search through millions of scholarly articles on the web. If you have an article title, searching it in google scholar is the quickest way to find out if it available online for free.

Books and Ebooks

In the Library of Congress call number system, books on the sciences are likely to be shelved in section Q and its subsections:

Q (Science (General))
QA (Mathematics) [includes computer sciences]
QB (Astronomy)
QC (Physics)
QD (Chemistry)
QE (Geology)
QH (Natural history - Biology)
QK (Botany)
QL (Zoology)
QM (Human anatomy)
QP (Physiology)
QR (Microbiology)

eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window Credo Reference cover 11,000+ reference topics from all major academic subject areas and is a great starting point for research. Entries include images, quotations, audio files, videos, ebooks and full text articles on a variety of topics. In addition to reference topics, Credo includes over 700 academic reference books. Credo's Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to 23 current nursing ebooks.
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window Search and view the library's full text ebook collection from EBSCO. The collection of 280,000+ titles covers all subject areas from general studies to allied health and medicine.
Science Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window

Databases

Anatomy & Physiology Revealed This link opens in a new window An interactive cadaver dissection experience. This unique multimedia study aid is designed to help you explore human anatomy using cadaver specimens and master physiology concepts through animation. Digital dissections allow unlimited drill and practice - anytime, anywhere. Detailed information and audio pronunciations build anatomical knowledge, and comprehensive quizzing reinforces learning.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on general health & medicine, pharmacology, neurology, molecular biology, genetics and genomics, histology, microbiology and many other subject domains. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 2,000 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,980 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1809 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Complete is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations include links to full-text content from South College Library.

Journals

Journal of Applied Physiology This link opens in a new window
Journal of Medicinal Chemistry This link opens in a new window

Subject Librarian

James Gill

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

South College Library
3904 Lonas Dr.
Knoxville, TN 37909

865.251.1832

Subjects: Criminal Justice, General Education, Legal Studies, Psychology, Sciences