Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the South College LibGuide for Computer Science & Information Technology! This guide provides reliable library and external resources as well as helps answer your questions about standards.
Retrieved from https://183263-537949-raikfcquaxqncofqfm.stackpathdns.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/shutterstock_318368642.jpg
Databases, Books and Journals
Regional Business News Regional Business News incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
Credo Reference and Ebooks Credo Reference cover 11,000+ reference topics from all major academic subject areas and is a great starting point for research. Entries include images, quotations, audio files, videos, ebooks and full text articles on a variety of topics.
In addition to reference topics, Credo includes over 700 academic reference books. Credo's Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to 23 current nursing ebooks.
EBSCO Ebook Collection Search and view the library's full text ebook collection from EBSCO. The collection of 37,000+ titles covers all subject areas from general studies to allied health and medicine.
The ebooks below are available for reading, but you will be required to enter your Canvas credentials to access them.
Access Control in Data Management Systems by
Publication Date: 2010-03-03
Access control is one of the fundamental services that any Data Management System should provide. Its main goal is to protect data from unauthorized read and write operations.
Cloud and Virtual Data Storage Networking by
Publication Date: 2011-08-26
This book will help you address the questions of when, where, with what, and how to leverage cloud, virtual, and data storage networking as part of your IT infrastructure.
Computer Networks by
Publication Date: 2007-04-16
Computer Networks, Fourth Edition, continues to provide an enduring, practical understanding of networks and their building blocks through rich, example-based instruction.
Integrated IT Performance Management by
Publication Date: 2016-01-06
If you are in search of real-world practical scenarios of IT performance management practices, with a desire to obtain examples of strategic directives, accountabilities, outcomes, and performance measures for managing IT services, with an interest toward how performance management integrates with strategic and operational management, then Integrated IT Performance Management is the book you need.
Internet of Things by
Publication Date: 2014-01-25
Advancement in sensor technology, smart instrumentation, wireless sensor networks, miniaturization, RFID and information processing is helping towards the realization of Internet of Things (IoT). IoTs are finding applications in various area applications including environmental monitoring, intelligent buildings, smart grids and so on. This book provides design challenges of IoT, theory, various protocols, implementation issues and a few case study. The book will be very useful for postgraduate students and researchers to know from basics to implementation of IoT.
IT Architecture for Dummies by
Publication Date: 2010-10-07
A solid introduction to the practices, plans, and skills required for developing a smart system architecture.
Logical Database Design Principles by
Publication Date: 2005-05-12
Until now, almost all books on logical database design focused exclusively on relational design. However, modern database management systems have added powerful features that have driven a movement away from truly normalized database design. Logical Database Design Principles reflects these recent changes.
Managing Risk in Information Systems by
Publication Date: 2014-07-03
Revised and updated with the latest data in the field, the Second Edition of Managing Risk in Information Systems provides a comprehensive overview of the SSCP® Risk, Response, and Recovery Domain in addition to providing a thorough overview of risk management and its implications on IT infrastructures and compliance.
Network Intrusion Detection and Prevention by
Publication Date: 2009-10-10
Network Intrusion Detection and Prevention: Concepts and Techniques provides detailed and concise information on different types of attacks, theoretical foundation of attack detection approaches, implementation, data collection, evaluation, and intrusion response.
Packet Guide to Voice over IP by
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Go under the hood of an operating Voice over IP network, and build your knowledge of the protocols and architectures used by this Internet telephony technology. With this concise guide, you'll learn about services involved in VoIP and get a first-hand view of network data packets from the time the phones boot through calls and subsequent connection teardown.
Wireless Networks by
Publication Date: 2016-02-22
Wireless Networks is a compendium of articles and papers that were presented at ICWN '16, an international conference that serves researchers, scholars, professionals, students, and academicians.
Stack Exchange - A network of user-moderated question and answer sites
Computer Science from the University of Oxford
episodes created by the Department of Computer Science, University of Oxford, one of the longest-established Computer Science departments in the country.
The series reflects this department's world-class research and teaching by providing talks that encompass topics such as computational biology, quantum computing, computational linguistics, information systems, software verification, and software engineering.
This orientation module is focused on Computer Science and IT programs resources. For a general library orientation, please choose one of the location-based orientations on the library's Orientations page.