Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the South College LibGuide for Electrical Engineering Technology! This guide will provide reliable library and external resources to help answer your questions.
Retrieved from https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/ec/Silego_clock_generator.JPG
Regional Business News Regional Business News incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
eBook Collections to Search:
EBSCO Ebook Collection Search and view the library's full text ebook collection from EBSCO. The collection of 37,000+ titles covers all subject areas from general studies to allied health and medicine.
Introduction to AutoCAD 2017 by Master the complexities of the world's bestselling 2D and 3D software with Introduction to AutoCAD 2017. Ideally suited to new users of AutoCAD, this book will be a useful resource for drawing modules in both vocational and introductory undergraduate courses in engineering and construction. A comprehensive, step-by-step introduction to the latest release of AutoCAD. Covering all the basic principles and acting as an introduction to 2D drawing, it also contains extensive coverage of all 3D topics, including 3D solid modelling and rendering. Written by a member of the Autodesk Developer Network. Hundreds of colour pictures, screenshots and diagrams illustrate every stage of the design process. Worked examples and exercises provide plenty of practice material to build proficiency with the software. Further education students will find this an invaluable textbook for City & Guilds AutoCAD qualifications as well as the relevant Computer Aided Drawing units of BTEC National Engineering, Higher National Engineering and Construction courses from Edexcel. Students enrolled in Foundation Degree courses containing CAD modules will also find this a very useful reference and learning aid.
Call Number: T 386 .A97 P3525 2017
Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Programmable Logic Controllers by This textbook, now in its sixth edition, continues to be straightforward and easy-to-read, presenting the principles of PLCs while not tying itself to one manufacturer or another. Extensive examples and chapter ending problems utilize several popular PLCs, highlighting understanding of fundamentals that can be used regardless of manufacturer. This book will help you to understand the main design characteristics, internal architecture, and operating principles of PLCs, as well as Identify safety issues and methods for fault diagnosis, testing, and debugging. New to This edition: A new chapter 1 with a comparison of relay-controlled systems, microprocessor-controlled systems, and the programmable logic controller, a discussion of PLC hardware and architecture, examples from various PLC manufacturers, and coverage of security, the IEC programming standard, programming devices and manufacturer's software More detail of programming using Sequential Function Charts Extended coverage of the sequencer More Information on fault finding, including testing inputs and outputs with an illustration of how it is done with the PLC manufacturer's software New case studies A methodical introduction, with many illustrations, describing how to program PLCs, no matter the manufacturer, and how to use internal relays, timers, counters, shift registers, sequencers, and data-handling facilities Consideration of the standards given by IEC 1131-3 and the programming methods of ladder, functional block diagram, instruction list, structured text, and sequential function chart Many worked examples, multiple-choice questions, and problems are included, with answers to all multiple-choice questions and problems given at the end of the book
Call Number: TJ 223 .P76 B65 2016
Publication Date: 2015-03-06
Industrial Applications of Programmable Logic Controllers and Scada by The book contains various applications of programmable logic controllers and SCADA designing of a plant. Everyone knows, nowadays all human handled plants are being replaced by the automatic control system, thus called Automation. PLCs are accepted worldwide for easier access and better precision. In this book Rockwell PLCs are described and so is the SCADA design, which is also done by the RSView32 software, manufactured by Rockwell. It is one of the biggest names in the PLC software industry, being easy to use, control and modify. Some electrical drives, such as D.C drives and A.C drives, are also described in detail because the control part is done by the PLCs but the main plant is based on these electrical drives.
Call Number: TJ 223 .P76 K36 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-10
Principles of Electrical Safety by Principles of Electrical Safety discusses current issues in electrical safety, which are accompanied by series' of practical applications that can be used by practicing professionals, graduate students, and researchers. . *nbsp;Provides extensive introductions to important topics in electrical safety *nbsp;Comprehensive overview of inductance, resistance, and capacitance as applied to the human body *nbsp;Serves as a preparatory guide for today's practicing engineers
Call Number: TK 152 .S8174 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-03
Power Generation Technologies by The new edition of Power Generation Technologies is a concise and readable guide that provides an introduction to the full spectrum of currently available power generation options, from traditional fossil fuels and the better established alternatives such as wind and solar power, to emerging renewables such as biomass and geothermal energy. Technology solutions such as combined heat and power and distributed generation are also explored. However, this book is more than just an account of the technologies - for each method the author explores the economic and environmental costs and risk factors. Each technology is covered using the same basic criteria so that comparisons between technologies can be made more easily. Those involved in planning and delivering energy - including engineers, managers and policy makers - will find in this book a guide through the minefield of maintaining a reliable power supply, meeting targets on greenhouse gas emissions, and addressing economic and social objectives. Provides a unique comparison of a wide range of power generation technologies from oil, coal, nuclear and natural gas, to geothermal, wind, solar, and bioenergy Hundreds of diagrams demystify how each technology functions in practice Evaluates the economic and environmental viability of each power generation system covered New chapters covering fast-advancing renewable and alternative power sources such as municipal waste and concentrating solar plants Fresh focus the evolution of traditional technologies such as natural gas and "clean coal" Expanded coverage of distributed power generation and CHP (combined heat and power) technologies
Call Number: TK 1001 .B725 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
Electromagnetics for Electrical Machines by Electromagnetics for Electrical Machines offers a comprehensive yet accessible treatment of the linear theory of electromagnetics and its application to the design of electrical machines. Leveraging valuable classroom insight gained by the authors during their impressive and ongoing teaching careers, this text emphasizes concepts rather than numerical methods, providing presentation/project problems at the end of each chapter to enhance subject knowledge. Highlighting the essence of electromagnetic field (EMF) theory and its correlation with electrical machines, this book: Reviews Maxwell's equations and scalar and vector potentials Describes the special cases leading to the Laplace, Poisson's, eddy current, and wave equations Explores the utility of the uniqueness, generalized Poynting, Helmholtz, and approximation theorems Discusses the Schwarz-Christoffel transformation, as well as the determination of airgap permeance Addresses the skin effects in circular conductors and eddy currents in solid and laminated iron cores Contains examples relating to the slot leakage inductance of rotating electrical machines, transformer leakage inductance, and theory of hysteresis machines Presents analyses of EMFs in laminated-rotor induction machines, three-dimensional field analyses for three-phase solid rotor induction machines, and more Electromagnetics for Electrical Machines makes an ideal text for postgraduate-level students of electrical engineering, as well as of physics and electronics and communication engineering. It is also a useful reference for research scholars concerned with problems involving electromagnetics.
Call Number: TK 2211 .M85 2015
Publication Date: 2018-10-08
Electronic Circuits by Electronics explained in one volume, using both theoretical and practical applications. New chapter on Raspberry Pi Companion website contains free electronic tools to aid learning for students and a question bank for lecturers Practical investigations and questions within each chapter help reinforce learning Mike Tooley provides all the information required to get to grips with the fundamentals of electronics, detailing the underpinning knowledge necessary to appreciate the operation of a wide range of electronic circuits, including amplifiers, logic circuits, power supplies and oscillators. The fourth edition now offers an even more extensive range of topics, with extended coverage of practical areas such as Raspberry Pi. The book's content is matched to the latest pre-degree level courses (from Level 2 up to, and including, Foundation Degree and HND), making this an invaluable reference text for all study levels, and its broad coverage is combined with practical case studies based in real-world engineering contexts. In addition, each chapter includes a practical investigation designed to reinforce learning and provide a basis for further practical work. A new companion website at www.key2electronics.com offers the reader a set of spreadsheet design tools that can be used to simplify circuit calculations, as well as circuit models and templates that will enable virtual simulation of circuits in the book. These are accompanied by online self-test multiple choice questions for each chapter with automatic marking, to enable students to continually monitor their own progress and understanding. A bank of online questions for lecturers to set as assignments is also available.
Call Number: TK 7867 .T6583 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-22
Power Electronics Handbook by Power Electronics Handbook, Fourth Edition, brings together over 100 years of combined experience in the specialist areas of power engineering to offer a fully revised and updated expert guide to total power solutions. Designed to provide the best technical and most commercially viable solutions available, this handbook undertakes any or all aspects of a project requiring specialist design, installation, commissioning and maintenance services. Comprising a complete revision throughout and enhanced chapters on semiconductor diodes and transistors and thyristors, this volume includes renewable resource content useful for the new generation of engineering professionals. This market leading reference has new chapters covering electric traction theory and motors and wide band gap (WBG) materials and devices. With this book in hand, engineers will be able to execute design, analysis and evaluation of assigned projects using sound engineering principles and adhering to the business policies and product/program requirements. Includes a list of leading international academic and professional contributors Offers practical concepts and developments for laboratory test plans Includes new technical chapters on electric vehicle charging and traction theory and motors Includes renewable resource content useful for the new generation of engineering professionals
Call Number: TK 7881.15 .P6733 2018
Publication Date: 2017-09-09
Adaptive Behavior Adaptive Behavior publishes peer-reviewed articles on adaptive behavior in biological systems and autonomous artificial systems. It is the official journal of the International Society for Adaptive Behavior (ISAB).
Human Factors: The Journal of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society Human Factors: The Journal of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society publishes peer-reviewed scientific studies in human factors/ergonomics that present theoretical and practical advances concerning the relationship between people and technologies, tools, environments, and systems.
IEEE Industrial Electronics Magazine IEEE Industrial Electronics Magazine publishes peer-reviewed articles that present emerging trends and practices in industrial electronics product research and development, key insights, and tutorial surveys in the field of interest to the membership of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society.
International Journal of Advanced Robotic Systems International Journal of Advanced Robotic Systems (IJARS) is a peer-reviewed, open access, international journal focusing on the full spectrum of robotics research. The journal is comprised of fifteen key Topic Areas, each led by an expert Topic Editor in the field.
International Journal of Distributed Sensor Networks International Journal of Distributed Sensor Networks (IJDSN) is a JCR ranked, peer-reviewed, open access journal that focuses on applied research
and applications of sensor networks.
The International Journal of High Performance Computing Applications The International Journal of High Performance Computing Applications (IJHPCA) provides original peer reviewed research papers and review articles on the use of supercomputers to solve complex modeling problems in a spectrum of disciplines.
The International Journal of Robotics Research International Journal of Robotics Research (IJRR) was the first scholarly publication on robotics research; it continues to supply scientists and students in robotics and related fields - artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, computer science, electrical and mechanical engineering - with timely, multidisciplinary material... This journal is peer-reviewed and is a member of the Committee on Publications Ethics (COPE).
Journal of Algorithms & Computational Technology Journal of Algorithms & Computational Technology (JACT) is a peer-reviewed open access journal which focusses on the employment of mathematical and numerical methods and computational technology in the development of engineering solutions or computational analysis.
Journal of Cognitive Engineering and Decision Making The focus of the Journal of Cognitive Engineering and Decision Making (JCEDM), is on research that seeks to understand how people engage in cognitive work in real-world settings and the development of systems that support that work.
The Journal of Defense Modeling and Simulation: Applications, Methodology, Technology The Journal of Defense Modeling and Simulation (JDMS) is a quarterly refereed archival journal devoted to advancing the practice, science, and art of modeling and simulation as it relates to the military and defense. The primary focus of the journal is to document, in a rigorous manner, technical lessons derived from practical experience.
Journal of Information Technology Research The Journal of Information Technology Research (JITR)presents comprehensive interdisciplinary and refereed research on the most emerging and breakthrough areas of information science and technology. The journal seeks to improve and expand existing research in underrepresented areas of information science and technology in all areas of global implication. Through the current trends in the globalization of technology in the knowledge society, JITR will serve to provide the highest in quality concepts, methodologies, trends and case studies for all audiences.
Lighting Research & Technology Lighting Research & Technology (LR&T) publishes original peer-reviewed research on all aspects of light and lighting and is published in association with The Society of Light and Lighting. LR&T covers the human response to light, the science of light generation, light control and measurement plus lighting design for both interior and exterior environments, as well as daylighting, energy efficiency and sustainability.
Measurement and Control Measurement and Control is a peer reviewed, open access journal which focusses on applied and theoretical research outcomes in measurement and control sciences.
Public Works Management & Policy Public Works Management & Policy (PWMP), published quarterly, is a peer-reviewed international journal for academics and practitioners in public works and the public and private infrastructure industries. Articles convey research results, evaluate management innovations, suggest methods of analysis and evaluation, and examine policy issues. PWMP addresses the planning, financing, development, and operations of civil infrastructure systems at all levels of society-federal, state and local.
SIMULATION SIMULATION is a peer-reviewed journal, which covers subjects including the modelling and simulation of: computer networking and communications, high performance computers, real-time systems, mobile and intelligent agents, simulation software, and language design, system engineering and design, aerospace, traffic systems, microelectronics, robotics, mechatronics, and air traffic and chemistry, physics, biology, medicine, biomedicine, sociology, and cognition.
News form Official Sources
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers: (click icon for information)
National Institute of Standards and Technology: (click icon for information)
National Electrical Manufacturers Association: (click icon for information)
This orientation module is focused on Electrical Engineering Technology resources. For a general library orientation, please choose one of the location-based orientations on the library's Orientations page.