Library: Nurse Anesthesia Program: Guide Home

Resources

Point of Care

AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 6,500 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality. Over 1.3 million clinicians in 187 countries and nearly 90% of major academic medical centers in the United States rely on UpToDate to provide the best care. More than 80 research studies confirm widespread usage of UpToDate and the association of its use with improved patient care and hospital performance — including reduced length of stay, fewer adverse complications, and lower mortality.
5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window Lexicomp Online is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive medical library.
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window

Finding Articles

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Health Source Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.

Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
Auscultation Classroom This link opens in a new window
Anatomy & Physiology Revealed This link opens in a new window
Female Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Male Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window

MyAccess Registration Guide

Medical Ebooks

Collections

AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window

Ebooks

Surgical and Anaesthetic Instruments for OSCEs : A Practical Study Guide This link opens in a new window
The DNP Project Workbook: A Step-by-Step Process for Success This link opens in a new window
Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia This link opens in a new window
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management This link opens in a new window
Clinical Anesthesia This link opens in a new window
Core Topics in Airway Management This link opens in a new window
Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Chemistry and Physics for Nurse Anesthesia This link opens in a new window
Stoelting's Pharmacology & Physiology in Anesthetic Practice This link opens in a new window
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology This link opens in a new window

General Ebook Collections

Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window

Anesthesia

AANA Journal This link opens in a new window
Access 02/01/1981 - present
Acta Anaesthesiologica Scandinavica This link opens in a new window
Access 01/01/1997 - present
Anaesthesia Critical Care & Pain Medicine This link opens in a new window
1995-Current
This journal publishes in English the highest quality original material, both scientific and clinical, on all aspects of anaesthesia, critical care & pain medicine.
Anesthesia & Analgesia This link opens in a new window
Access 01/01/1957 - present
Anesthesiology Clinics This link opens in a new window
1995-Current
This journal presents procedurally focused articles that update you on the latest trends in patient management, keep you abreast of the newest advances, and provide a sound basis for choosing treatment options.
Applied Nursing Research This link opens in a new window
1995-Current
This journal presents original, peer-reviewed research findings clearly and directly for clinical applications in all nursing specialties.
Best Practice & Research: Clinical Anaesthesiology This link opens in a new window
Access 03/01/2005 - 09/01/2006
British Journal of Anaesthesia This link opens in a new window
1995-Current
This Journal publishes high-impact original work in all branches of anaesthesia, critical care medicine, pain medicine and perioperative medicine including fundamental, translational and clinical sciences, clinical practice, technology, education and training.
International Journal of Obstetric Anesthesia This link opens in a new window
1995-Current
This journal publishes original articles devoted exclusively to obstetric anesthesia and bringing together all three of its principal components; anesthesia care for operative delivery and the perioperative period, pain relief in labour and care of the critically ill obstetric patient.
Journal of Anesthesia This link opens in a new window
Access 03/01/1987 - present
Journal of Clinical Anesthesia This link opens in a new window
Access 09/01/2012 - 01/01/2015
Journal of Critical Care This link opens in a new window
1995-Current
This journal is a leading international, peer-reviewed journal that aims to improve patient care by publishing manuscripts that contain new or updated information that can be integrated into clinical practice, with the exception of experimental research.
The Journal of Pain This link opens in a new window
1995-Current
This journal publishes original articles, reviews, and focus articles related to all aspects of pain, including basic, translational, and clinical research, epidemiology, education, and health policy.
Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing This link opens in a new window
1995-Current
This journal provides original, peer-reviewed research for a primary audience that includes nurses in perianesthesia settings, including ambulatory surgery, preadmission testing, postanesthesia care (Phases I and II), extended observation, and pain management.
Paediatric Anaesthesia This link opens in a new window
Access 01/01/2004 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Pediatric Anesthesia and Critical Care Journal This link opens in a new window
Access 01/01/2013 - present
Pediatric Critical Care Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access 07/01/2000 - present

Open Access Anesthesia

Journal of Anaesthesiology Clinical Pharmacology
01/01/2005 - present
Anaesthesia
01/01/1997 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Journal of Pain and Symptom Management
01/01/1986 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
British Journal of Anesthesia
01/01/1923 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Anaesthesia, Critical Care, & Pain Medicine
02/01/2004 - 04/30/2015
Techniques in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Management
1997-2015 Discontinued

Nursing & Medicine

American Journal of Nursing This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Journal of Advanced Nursing This link opens in a new window
Journal of Interprofessional Education & Practice This link opens in a new window
Journal of Nursing Administration This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Journal of Nursing Regulation This link opens in a new window
Journal of Pediatric Health Care This link opens in a new window
Journal of Professional Nursing This link opens in a new window
Journal of Transcultural Nursing This link opens in a new window
MCN, American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Nursing This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Nursing Administration Quarterly This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Nursing Critical Care This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Nursing for Women's Health This link opens in a new window
Nursing Management This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Nursing Outlook This link opens in a new window
official journal of the American Academy of Nursing
Nursing Research This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Nursing Science Quarterly This link opens in a new window
Pain Management Nursing This link opens in a new window
Policy, Politics, & Nursing Practice This link opens in a new window
Public Health Nursing This link opens in a new window
Research in Nursing & Health This link opens in a new window
Western Journal of Nursing Research This link opens in a new window

Journal Collections

LWW PA & RN Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window
Sage Open This link opens in a new window SAGE Open is a peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.

BioMed Central
Open access journals in the fields of biology and medicine.

Video Collections

HSTalks: The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
NEJM: Videos in Clinical Medicine This link opens in a new window

Lexicomp This link opens in a new window Lexicomp Online is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive medical library.
Micromedex & CareNotes This link opens in a new window
AHFS DI This link opens in a new window
Drug Monographs This link opens in a new window
USP-NF This link opens in a new window USP–NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations are featured in the USP. Monographs for dietary supplements and ingredients appear in a separate section of the USP. Excipient monographs are in the NF.
Requires users to register for an Access Point account to access all of the content.
USP FCC This link opens in a new window
USP Dictionary This link opens in a new window The USP-DO lists over 10,000 drugs names with their CAS numbers, UNII codes, manufacturer information, molecular weights and formulas, and chemical structures.

Anesthesia Guidebook
We help anesthesia providers thrive in challenging, high-stakes careers through our relevant, compelling guides.
Beyond the Mask
Each week, we discuss the important issues that happen both in, and beyond, the operating room.
From the Head of the Bed
An archive of podcast episodes that aired before the transition to the Anesthesia Guidebook.
APEX Live
Practical anesthesia knowledge and wisdom for CRNAs by CRNAs.
Anesthesia Patient Safety
The official podcast of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF).
ACCRAC
The Anesthesia and Critical Care Reviews and Commentary podcast aims to help trainees who are reviewing for their exams as well as to provide a forum for interesting topics, debates and interviews in the areas of anesthesia and critical care.
Pediatric Anesthesia
A monthly podcast provided by OpenAnesthesia.org.

Micromedex apps are a free download but require a password for content access. To retrieve the password for each of these apps, go to the Micromedex homepage and click "Download Mobile Apps" at the bottom. On the following page, open the "Micromedex Native Mobile Apps" collapsible menu. The current Micromedex apps available are:

Micromedex Drug Reference
Micromedex Drug Interactions
Micromedex IV Compatibility
Micromedex NeoFax
Micromedex Pediatrics

Micromedex & CareNotes This link opens in a new window

To use the UpToDate app, you must register for an UpToDate account.

Maintain app access: You must login to the browser version of UpToDate using the link below every 90 days to re-verify your account and maintain app access. Your app access will expire if you do not re-verify your account.

UpToDate - App Registration
Use this link to register for an UpToDate account. To re-verify your account, login to the web browser version every 90 days.

UpToDate App Registration Instructions

General Resources

Lab Tests Online
Clinical lab test information for patients and medical professionals includes test descriptions, conditions, screening guide, and more.
Anatomy Guy
A video collection that thoroughly emphasizes clinical anatomy.
Dr. Najeeb Lectures
World's Most Popular Medical Lectures.
Medical Gross Anatomy
BlueLink includes cadaveric photographs, comprehensive lab manuals, and interactive files with click-to-reveal testing capabilities.
South College Writing Lab
You will need to sign into Canvas to access this resource. This page details how South College students can make use of the writing lab.
Writing at the Graduate Level
Montclair State University provides essential writing advice and links to writing resources.
Graduate & Doctoral Writing
The Writing Center at the University of Arizona provides helpful resources to show the difference between graduate and undergraduate writing.

Associations

Nurse Anesthesia - National

Nurse Anesthesia - State

Nursing

Specialty Organizations

Draw It To Know It

Access to Draw It To Know It is provided through the Nurse Anesthesia Program for faculty and students. Please contact Lois Stewart (lstewart@south.edu) for more information.

Library Orientation

Nursing Orientation This link opens in a new window

This orientation module focuses on Nursing resources. For a general library orientation, please choose one of the location-based orientations on the library's Orientations page.

Library Orientations Page

Need help with Paper Formatting?

For general guidance and examples, check out the APA 7th Guide.

For AMA 11 help, check out the AMA 11 Guide or refer to the AMA Manual of Style ebook:

AMA Manual of Style - Ebook This link opens in a new window
11th edition ebook. May need to refresh page after logging in.

If you have specific questions, click the Ask a Librarian button or send an email.

Email: scref@south.edu

Help with an Access Issue

Text: 865-217-7631

Career Resources

Gas Works
Anesthesia Job Postings.
CRNA Careers
Job postings provided by the American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology.
Army Reserve Healthcare Team
An outline of employment opportunities with the Army Reserve.

Nurse Anesthesia Program: Guide Home