Library: Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner : Guide Home

Guidelines

Professional Resources

Certification

Associations

Library & Web Resources

5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
LWW Health Library - Made Incredibly Easy! This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref Medical & Nursing This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window

2 Minute Medicine This link opens in a new window
American Journal of Nursing This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
The American Journal of Psychology This link opens in a new window
American Psychologist This link opens in a new window
BMJ This link opens in a new window
Clinical Nursing Research This link opens in a new window
Clinical Psychology: Science and Practice This link opens in a new window
Developmental Medicine and Child Neurology This link opens in a new window
Developmental Psychology This link opens in a new window
International Journal of Stress Management This link opens in a new window
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Journal of Advanced Nursing This link opens in a new window
Journal of Applied Psychology This link opens in a new window
Journal of Transcultural Nursing This link opens in a new window
LWW PA & RN Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Nursing This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Nursing Research This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Psychology of Addictive Behaviors This link opens in a new window
Social Psychology This link opens in a new window

DSM-5 Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 Clinical Cases This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 Handbook Of Differential Diagnosis This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 Handbook On The Cultural Formulation Interview This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 Guía De Consulta De Los Criterios Diagnósticos Del DSM-5 This link opens in a new window

A selection of Ebooks on this topic from our collection. For more Ebooks on mental health or mental health nursing use the Library Search.

A Multidisciplinary Handbook of Child and Adolescent Mental Health for Front-line Professionals This link opens in a new window
Deconstructing Stigma in Mental Health This link opens in a new window
Depression in Girls and Women Across the Lifespan: Treatment Essentials for Mental Health Professionals This link opens in a new window
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health This link opens in a new window
Introduction to Clinical Mental Health Counseling: Contemporary Issues This link opens in a new window
Latina/o American Health and Mental Health: Practices and Challenges This link opens in a new window
Mental Health and Mental Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Conditions, Treatments, and Well-Being This link opens in a new window
Mental Health Care of Children and Adolescents: A Guide for Primary Care Clinicians This link opens in a new window
Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook This link opens in a new window
Mental Health for All This link opens in a new window
Mental Health in Rural America: A Field Guide This link opens in a new window
Nutrition and Mental Health This link opens in a new window
Pediatric Mental Health: A Compendium of AAP Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies This link opens in a new window
Practical Strategies in Geriatric Mental Health: Cases and Approaches This link opens in a new window
Promoting Mental Health in Children and Adolescents: Primary Care Practice and Advocacy This link opens in a new window
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: An Interpersonal Approach This link opens in a new window
Suicide and Mental Health This link opens in a new window
Supporting Troubled Young People: A Practical Guide to Helping with Mental Health Problems This link opens in a new window
Youth Mental Health: Approaches to Emerging Mental Ill-Health in Young People This link opens in a new window

Anatomy and Physiology Channel (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Nursing Channel (HSTalks) This link opens in a new window

Web Resources/You Tube Videos

Beacon Health Option's Motivational Interviewing: Example of Questions to Ask Members/Patients

Screening Tools

DSM-5 Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision This link opens in a new window
For further clinical evaluation and research, the APA is offering a number of “emerging measures” in Section III of DSM-5-TR. These patient assessment measures were developed to be administered at the initial patient interview and to monitor treatment progress, thus serving to advance the use of initial symptomatic status and patient reported outcome (PRO) information, as well as the use of “anchored” severity assessment instruments. Instructions, scoring information, and interpretation guidelines are included. Clinicians and researchers may provide APA with further data on the instruments’ usefulness in characterizing patient status and improving patient care.
EBMcalc: Psychiatry This link opens in a new window
Login Directions: You will be directed to TDS Health login. DO NOT enter a User name or Password here. Instead, under the Log in button, click Athens Login. You will be taken to the OpenAthens login screen. Under "Find your institution," select/type in South College. Next, sign in with your Canvas username & password. If you are a student, be sure to choose Student Ldap from the drop down menu. Click sign in. This will take you to the TDS Health homepage. Here, choose the EBMcalc box. Psychiatry resources can be found under the tab "Specialties" and then "Psychiatry."

Web Resources

Health & Medicine – Harvard Gazette

Library Subscription Apps

The Micromedex app is free to download but you'll need to follow activate the app by connecting it to South College's subscription. This can be done either on or off-campus, and instructions detailing this process are available below:

Micromedex App Activation Instructions

Register for a Login ID to use the Natural Medicines app and to accrue CE/CME credits. On the Natural Medicines homepage, click the "Get Your Login ID" button at the top of the screen to register.

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window

Sign up for the Sanford Guide App: Create a free account to access the Sanford Guide Collection on a mobile device. Please note that you may be required to be on campus to register.

Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window

Sanford Guide App Registration - New

Sanford Guide App Registration Instructions

Renew Sanford Guide App Access

Sanford Guide App Renewal

To use the UpToDate app, you must register for an UpToDate account.

Maintain app access: You must login to the browser version of UpToDate using the link below every 90 days to re-verify your account and maintain app access. Your app access will expire if you do not re-verify your account.

UpToDate - App Registration
Use this link to register for an UpToDate account. To re-verify your account, login to the web browser version every 90 days.