Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here is a list of some of the most useful sources for legal studies.
Types of Sources
Legal Studies research materials can be described as primary or secondary resources, and may be in print or electronic formats.
These are works that contain the law itself. These include federal, state, and local codes, statutes, ordinances, regulations, and court decisions. Examples are:
- U.S. Code Annotated
- Code of Federal Regulations
- North Carolina General Statutes Annotated
- Tennessee Code Annotated
Print resources are listed in the library catalog. Search by keyword, title, author, or subject.
This is a legal database that is only available to current South College Legal Studies students, who will receive logins from the School of Legal Studies.
These are works that are about the law, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, textbooks, and journal articles. Examples include:
- ABA Journal
- Black's Law Dictionary
- Corpus Juris Secundum
- Law reviews
- Tennessee Jurisprudence
Credo Reference and Ebooks
Credo Reference contains multiple reference works on criminology & law, such as the Collins Dictionary of Law.
Gale Databases from TEL
Gale database collection available to TN residents only, through the Tennessee Electronic Library.
These orientation modules are focused on Legal Studies resources. For a general library orientation, please choose one of the location-based orientations on the library's Orientations page.