Library: Surgical Technology Programs: Guide Home

Surgical Technology in Movies

Something the Lord Made

In the Jim Crow South, a white surgeon takes on a black research assistant, and together they develop a procedure to save children with congenital heart disease, but the man of color cannot get recognition for his contribution to the project.

Associations

Resources

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window
AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
Health Source Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
HSTalks: The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window Lexicomp Online is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive medical library.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Micromedex & CareNotes This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window

Ebooks

101 of Surgical Instruments: Naming, Recognizing, Handling and Presenting This link opens in a new window
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery This link opens in a new window
Atlas of Suturing Techniques : Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair This link opens in a new window
Block’s Disinfection, Sterilization, and Preservation This link opens in a new window
Decker: Surgery This link opens in a new window
The Fundamentals of Surgical Instruments: A Practical Guide to Their Recognition, Use and Care This link opens in a new window
Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles & Practice This link opens in a new window
Instrumentation for the Operating Room: A Photographic Manual This link opens in a new window
Pocket Guide to the Operating Room This link opens in a new window
Surgical and Anaesthetic Instruments for OSCEs : A Practical Study Guide This link opens in a new window
Surgical Techniques for Trauma and Sports Related Injuries of the Elbow This link opens in a new window

Ebook Collections

AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window

Anatomy & Physiology Revealed This link opens in a new window

MyAccess Registration Guide

Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.

Blood Transfusion Game
"In this game you have to blood type each patient and give them a blood transfusion. Are you able to do that? If not, maybe you should read the introduction to blood typing before you start, otherwise you will put the patients' lives in danger!"

JAMA This link opens in a new window
Journal of Interprofessional Education & Practice This link opens in a new window
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window

Journal Collections

LWW PA & RN Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window
Sage Open This link opens in a new window SAGE Open is a peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.

BioMed Central
Open access journals in the fields of biology and medicine.

BMJ This link opens in a new window

Looking for Incision?

The Surgical Technology programs provide access to Incision directly to SurgTech students. Please contact your instructor for more information.

Journal of Medical Insight

JOMI This link opens in a new window

Register for an account to access JOMI content.

Go to jomi.com/account (using Chrome is suggested).
Enter your information:
- Use your South College email address.
- In the space provided for Institution, type South College.
- Select the most appropriate User Type from the menu.
Click on the green Create Account button.
An email with a confirmation link will be sent to your South College email.
Click the link to confirm your account.

jomi.com/account

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
The Visual Guides: Understanding The Human Body This link opens in a new window
Something the Lord Made This link opens in a new window

Free Web Resources

Lab Tests Online
Clinical lab test information for patients and medical professionals includes test descriptions, conditions, screening guide, and more.
MedPix | National Library of Medicine
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
Operating Room Essential Equipment Checklist

Podcasts

Career Resources

Occupational Outlook Handbook for Surgical Technologists
National Job Board for Physician Assistant and Advanced Practice Nurse Employment
Career Center from NBSTSA
Nursing resource website with nationwide nursing job search by state and by specialty
How to Become a Surgical Technologist
EduMed.org guide for prospective Surgical Technologists

Library Orientation

Surgical Technology Orientation This link opens in a new window

This orientation module is focused on Surgical Technology resources. For a general library orientation, please choose one of the location-based orientations on the library's Orientations page.