Library: Doctor of Medical Science Program: Guide Home

Library Resources

Research

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window

Clinical

5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window

Focus-Related

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

Journals

Health Affairs This link opens in a new window
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Journal of Business Research This link opens in a new window
Journal of Physician Assistant Education This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Journal of Public Health Policy This link opens in a new window
Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window

Journal Collections

SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window
Sage Open This link opens in a new window
LWW PA & RN Journal Collection This link opens in a new window

Ebook Collections

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window

Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination delivers videos featuring step-by-step, head-to-toe, and systems-based physical examination techniques, as well as interactive OSCE clinical reasoning modules. Its video collection now includes nearly 30 brand-new videos focusing on communication and interpersonal skills to train your students for better, more holistic patient care. Topics include active and attentive listening, disclosing serious news, rapport with LGBTQ adults, and more.
HSTalks: The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window

Content-Related Resources

Library Resources

Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2023 This link opens in a new window
DSM Library This link opens in a new window
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21e This link opens in a new window
Merck Manual - Professional Version This link opens in a new window

Web Resources

Library Resources

Clinical Evidence Made Easy This link opens in a new window
Physician Assistant's Guide to Research and Medical Literature This link opens in a new window

Web Resources

AHRQ: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Best BETs BETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. BETs take into account the shortcomings of much current evidence, allowing physicians to make the best of what there is. Although BETs initially had an emergency medicine focus, there are a significant number of BETs covering cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and paediatrics.
Center for Evidence-Based Medicine Resources and Tools
ClinicalTrials.gov ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Duke University Medical Center Library's EBP Tutorial
Trip Database

Library Resources

Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window Lexidrug is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive medical library.
The Medical Letter This link opens in a new window
Micromedex & CareNotes This link opens in a new window

Web Resources

FDA: U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Library Resources

Dunn and Haimann's Healthcare Management This link opens in a new window
Essentials of Healthcare Management: Cases, Concepts, and Skills This link opens in a new window
Gapenski's Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management This link opens in a new window
Healing Our Future: Leadership for a Changing Health System This link opens in a new window
Health Policy Issues: An Economic Perspective This link opens in a new window
Health Program Planning, Implementation, and Evaluation: Creating Behavioral, Environmental, and Policy Change This link opens in a new window
High Reliability Organizations: A Healthcare Handbook for Patient Safety & Quality This link opens in a new window
Introduction to the Financial Management of Healthcare Organizations This link opens in a new window
Leadership and Governance in Primary Healthcare: An Exemplar for Practice in Resource Limited Settings This link opens in a new window
The Safety Playbook: A Healthcare Leader's Guide to Building a High-Reliability Organization This link opens in a new window

Note: This is a sample of our ebook holdings on this topic. To discover more titles on this topic, do a Library Search.

Web Resources

AHRQ: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
CDC Public Health Policy Resources provide information about CDC offices and programs that focus on policy-related matters and on various laws, regulations, and policies that have public health implications.
Healthcare Delivery Research Program The mission of the Healthcare Delivery Research Program (HDRP) is to advance innovative research to improve the delivery of cancer-related care, thereby improving health for individuals and populations.
Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement ICSI utilizes the Grading of Recommendations Assessment, Development and Evaluation (GRADE) system as a method of assessing the quality of evidence and writing recommendations for guidelines. This provides advantages over other systems including a system previously used/developed by ICSI.
Mayo Clinic Robert D. and Patricia E. Kern Center for the Science of Health Care Delivery The center creates and evaluates data-driven solutions that transform the health care experience.
more...less...
The center creates and evaluates data-driven solutions that transform the health care experience.
National Center for Healthcare Leadership | NCHL
NCCPA Research Repository NCCPA has a robust repository of data on Certified PA demographic and practice characteristics.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation | About RWJF
VA Research on Health Care Delivery

Library Resources

Journals

Journal of Physician Assistant Education This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.

Ebooks

The College Classroom Assessment Compendium This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Challenges in Medical Education: From Theory to Practice This link opens in a new window
Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions This link opens in a new window
Curriculum Development for Medical Education: A Six-Step Approach This link opens in a new window
Engaging in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning : A Guide to the Process, and How to Develop a Project From Start to Finish This link opens in a new window
Enhancing Adult Motivation to Learn: A Comprehensive Guide for Teaching All Adults This link opens in a new window
Presentations in Medical Education This link opens in a new window
Teaching As the Art of Staging : A Scenario-Based College Pedagogy in Action This link opens in a new window
Teaching Public Health This link opens in a new window
Transforming Medical Education: Historical Case Studies of Teaching, Learning, and Belonging in Medicine This link opens in a new window
Using Reflection and Metacognition to Improve Student Learning: Across the Disciplines, Across the Academy This link opens in a new window

Note: This is a sample of our ebook holdings on this topic. To discover more titles on this topic, do a Library Search.

Web Resources

PAEA Physician Assistant Education Association
The PA Path Podcast
NCCPA Research Repository NCCPA has a robust repository of data on Certified PA demographic and practice characteristics.

Professional Associations & Career Resources

AAPA American Academy of Physician Assistants
PAEA Physician Assistant Education Association
ADMSA | American Doctor of Medical Science Association
ADPHS | Association of Doctoral Programs in Health Sciences
AMA | American Medical Association
PA Guidelines for Ethical Conduct |AAPA

PA Jobs from AAPA Physician Assistant jobs, curated by the AAPA
Physician Assistant Jobs Employment listings from across the U.S. Searchable by job description and location.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Scientists

JAAPA Podcast
The podcast for the Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants
The PA Life Podcast
The Audio PANCE and PANRE Physician Assistant Board Review Podcast
The PA Path Podcast
An original podcast from the PA Education Association