Library: Educators as Researchers: Research Resources

Library Resources

Conducting Your Literature Review This link opens in a new window
This book is a step-by-step guide to writing a literature review, and includes tips for modifying the process as needed depending on your audience, purpose, and goals.
The Dissertation Journey: A Practical and Comprehensive Guide to Planning, Writing, and Defending Your Dissertation This link opens in a new window
This book is a comprehensive how-to guide for graduate students faced with the challenge of developing and writing a quality dissertation.

Gale Research Complete This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Source This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window

Note: This is just a select list of our library's databases. For a list of databases recommended for your program of study, consult your program guide.

How to Read A Scholarly Article

Using EBSCO Folder to Save and Organize Your Search Results

The Library Search features an "Add to Folder" tool to help you save and organize your search results.

IMPORTANT: If you are searching an EBSCO database directly, and not searching through the Library Search, you will need to sign in to your account to use the Add to Folder tool. Click on the words "Sign In" in the top righthand corner of your results page. If you do not do this, and simply "add to folder," the articles you think you are saving will be cleared at the end of the browsing session.

For more information about foldering and other special features of the Library Search, click on the link below:

Library Search Basics - Part 4 This link opens in a new window
Using the Folder and Publication Finder

Google Scholar and Library Databases

Use Google Scholar to find scholarly journal articles. Follow these steps to link articles available in South College Library's databases to your Google Scholar search.

Go to Google Scholar>Settings>Library Links and search South College.
Check the box for South College - South College Full Text.
Click Save.

Google Scholar Use this tool to search through millions of scholarly articles on the web. If you have an article title, searching it in Google Scholar is the quickest way to find out if it is available online for free.

Cite Tools

The cite tool featured in our Library Search, like other citation tools/makers, sometimes creates citations that have errors in them because they are machine generated. The Library Search cite tool has this disclaimer "Make any necessary corrections before using. Pay special attention to personal names, capitalization, and dates. Always consult your library resources for the exact formatting and punctuation guidelines."

Does this mean that you shouldn't use cite tools? No! It just means that you will need to check that your cite tool generated citations is correct and fix it where it is not. Using a cite tool is still a good idea. It's time saving in that you don't have to create a citation from scratch. Use what it gives you, but be sure to fix aspects of the created citation that do not conform with APA 7th rules. Refer to the Library's APA 7th Guide for help with APA 7th formatting.

Statistics

Are you looking for statistics or data sets? The library's Statistics guide provides access to Statista, a library database, and many government and free websites.

Educators as Researchers: Research Resources