Library: Occupational Therapy Programs: Guide Home

Resources

Databases

5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Bates' Visual Guide This link opens in a new window Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
Health Source Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
HSTalks: The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
ICE Video Library + StrokeHelp This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Ultimate provides authoritative medical information on general health & medicine, pharmacology, neurology, molecular biology, genetics and genomics, histology, microbiology and many other subject domains. MEDLINE Ultimate uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 2,000 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,980 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1809 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Ultimate is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Micromedex & CareNotes This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
PEDro This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window

Ebooks

Advanced Statistics for Kinesiology and Exercise Science: A Practical Guide to ANOVA and Regression Analyses This link opens in a new window
An Occupational Therapists Guide to Home Modification Practice This link opens in a new window
Conditions in Occupational Therapy: Effect on Occupational Performance This link opens in a new window
Kinesiology for Occupational Therapy This link opens in a new window
DeLisa's Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation: Principles and Practice This link opens in a new window
Freedom to Move : Movement Therapy for Spinal Pain and Injuries This link opens in a new window
Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy: An Introduction to the Profession This link opens in a new window
Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy: The Theoretical Basis and Practice Application of Group Intervention This link opens in a new window
Illuminating The Dark Side of Occupation: International Perspectives From Occupational Therapy and Occupational Science This link opens in a new window
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health: A Vision for Participation This link opens in a new window
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy This link opens in a new window

Ebook Collections

AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window AccessPhysiotherapy from McGraw-Hill Medical is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy – with groundbreaking content for today’s PT. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.
Credo Reference and Ebooks This link opens in a new window Credo Reference cover 11,000+ reference topics from all major academic subject areas and is a great starting point for research. Entries include images, quotations, audio files, videos, ebooks and full text articles on a variety of topics. In addition to reference topics, Credo includes over 700 academic reference books. Credo's Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to 23 current nursing ebooks.
DSM Library This link opens in a new window
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window Search and view the library's full text ebook collection from EBSCO. The collection of 280,000+ titles covers all subject areas from general studies to allied health and medicine.
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window Point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases.
Seating and Wheeled Mobility: A Clinical Resource Guide This link opens in a new window

American Journal of Occupational Therapy
-AJOT is available full text, 1980 - current in CINAHL Ultimate.

American Journal of Occupational Therapy This link opens in a new window

Journals & Journal Collections

Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine This link opens in a new window
2009 - Present [Full Text Delay: 1 Year]
American Journal of Occupational Therapy This link opens in a new window
Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation This link opens in a new window
1995 - Present
BMJ This link opens in a new window
1991 - Present
Clinical Biomechanics This link opens in a new window
1995 - Present
Developmental Medicine and Child Neurology This link opens in a new window
1997 - Present
JAMA This link opens in a new window
1998 - Present
Journal of Bone & Joint Surgery This link opens in a new window
Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Journal of Interprofessional Education & Practice This link opens in a new window
2015 - Present
Journal of Manual & Manipulative Therapy This link opens in a new window
1993 - Present
Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy This link opens in a new window
1979 - Present
Journal of Physiotherapy This link opens in a new window
2010 - Present
Journal of Women's Health Physical Therapy This link opens in a new window
2005 - Present

Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise This link opens in a new window
1969 - Present

Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Musculoskeletal Science and Practice This link opens in a new window
2017 - Present
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
1990 - Present
Pain This link opens in a new window
2015 - Present

Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
Physiotherapy Research International This link opens in a new window
1996 - Present
Spine This link opens in a new window
1976 - Present

Choose "OpenAthens Login" if you are not taken directly to the Ovid home page.
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window The Springer eJournal collection includes more than 2,400 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, business, engineering, medicine, and the social sciences. Coverage for most journals is from the first issue to the current issue. Full-text available.

Rehab Management

PEDro PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 39,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by Musculoskeletal Health Sydney, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).
National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). We collect, catalog, and disseminate the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDILRR. NIDILRR funds more than 250 projects each year that conduct research on a wide range of issues including technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building.
AOTA Resources for Students
NCBOT Exam Study Materials

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Natural Medicines is the most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Anatomy & Physiology Revealed This link opens in a new window *See Mobile Access tab to register for MyAccess account* An interactive cadaver dissection experience. This unique multimedia study aid is designed to help you explore human anatomy using cadaver specimens and master physiology concepts through animation. Digital dissections allow unlimited drill and practice - anytime, anywhere. Detailed information and audio pronunciations build anatomical knowledge, and comprehensive quizzing reinforces learning.

MyAccess Account: Register for a MyAccess account remotely sign in to AccessPhysiotherapy, access the mobile website, and use additional features such as review questions and the cadaver dissection tool.

MyAccess Registration Guide

Seniors Flourish
The Seniors Flourish Podcast is an occupational therapy podcast helping occupational therapy practitioners working with older adults be the best they can be - not only by showcasing relevant interviews, answering questions, current articles and hot topics, but also to getting OT practitioners EXCITED about working with older adults, give actionable ideas that listeners can take and use in their own practice and have some FUN along the way
OT Potential
This podcast is for occupational therapy practitioners and students looking to keep up with evidence based practice. Each week, we discuss one influential OT-related journal article.
AOTA Podcast
Discussing all things occupational therapy and how to improve quality of OT services.
Spill the OT Podcast
Episodes with therapists discussing all aspects of the job, both the ups and the downs.

Career Resources

Exam Prep

PrepSTEP for Colleges and Universities This link opens in a new window
PrepSTEP is a dynamic online platform that can assist students in academic success and preparation for many occupational licensing exams for the programs offered at South College. PrepSTEP provides college prep materials including core math, science, and English skills, computer skills for use in self-directed study or as supplemental materials for developmental programs. In addition to college prep, it includes career prep materials and certification practice for graduating students including Praxis, NCLEX, TEAS, and PANCE prep, among many others.

Professional Associations

Library Orientation

Occupational Therapy Programs Orientation This link opens in a new window

This orientation module is focused on Occupational Therapy resources. For a general library orientation, please choose one of the location-based orientations on the library's Orientations page.