Accounting CoachOffers a free online accounting course covering 27 topics, as well as drills/exams and an online forum. The "Helpful Links" section leads to other sites of free online courses and e-books for accounting.
Bean CounterBean Counter is primarily an accounting and bookkeeping educational and training site that offers free beginning bookkeeping and accounting tutorials, courses, exams, tests, quizzes, lectures and games with a dose of humor.
My Accounting CourseCovers accounting topics divided into sections for Accounting Basics, Accounting Principles, Accounting Cycle, Financial Statements, and Financial Ratios. Also includes a dictionary of accounting terms.
Ten Steps to Accounting ResearchUses a research example to outline the process for researching accounting topics and the types of sources useful for each step.
Bean Counter's Bookkeeping & Accounting Quizzes and GamesIncludes over 150 regular and quick response quizzes, skills tests, games, and puzzles. They cover introductory bookkeeping and accounting concepts and are provided for those wanting exams to test their accounting and bookkeeping knowledge and skills while having a little fun, too.
Bookkeeping Quiz20 multiple choice and fill in the blank questions to test knowledge.
Chart of Accounts Quiz6 multiple choice and fill in the blanks questions to test knowledge of Chart of Accounts.
Debits and Credits Quiz14 multiple choice and fill in the blank questions t test knowledge of debits and credits.
Accounting TodayAccountingToday.com provides access to 2 free articles on current accounting issues.
Annual ReportsAnnualReports.com is a free service that provides access to recent corporate annual and 10-K reports.
AuditNetProvides information and links a variety of subscription and online services for accountants and auditors.
BankrateProvides clear explanation of financial vehicles and timely rates for mortgages, home equity loans, credit cards, and checking accounts. It also provides various calculators, tracks ATM fees and online banking fees. Site is updated daily.
Congressional Joint Committee on TaxationThe committee publishes and prepares hearing pamphlets, committee reports, and conference reports; assists in the drafting of statutes, assists with the development and analysis of legislative proposals, prepares revenue estimates of all revenue legislation considered, reviews proposed large income tax refunds, and initiates investigations of various aspects of the federal tax system.
Discover AccountingAn overview of accounting work, state certifications, and resource for current and prospective accounting students..
Gallup ReportsContains nformation for researchers on opinion polls and trends. Special features include a guest scholar poll review each month, an informational FAQ section that explains the Gallup poll's history and techniques, and special historical reports
IFACnetSearch engine from the International Federation of Accountants
Tax Notes"[T]o foster free, open, and informed discussion about taxation, Tax Notes is proud to offer many free resources including a curated selection of news, analysis, and special reports; podcasts; and the Tax History Project, including our collection of presidential tax returns."--taxnotes.com; Note: This page includes summary of their subscription services.
CFE: Certified Fraud ExaminerCertified Fraud Examiner (CFE) designation denotes proven expertise in fraud prevention, detection, deterrence and investigation. Link provides information on CFE requirements, as well as resources to help you obtain your CFE.
CFP: Certified Financial PlannerCertified Financial Planners assist their clients in managing, sheltering and expanding their assets through the development of a comprehensive plan geared toward a client's financial objectives and resources. Link provides information on CFP requirements as well as resources to help you obtain your CFP.
CGFM: Certified Government Financial ManagerCertified Government Financial Manager (CGFM) is the first certification broad enough to cover the whole field of government financial management - federal, state and local. Link provides information on CGFM requirements as well as resources to help you obtain your certification.
CIA: Certified Internal AuditorThe Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) designation is the only globally accepted certification for internal auditors and remains the standard by which individuals demonstrate their competency and professionalism in the internal auditing field. Link provides information on CIA requirements as well as resources to help you obtain your CIA.
CMA: Certified Management AccountantCertified Management Account (CMA) is a certification for accountants and financial professionals in business. Link provides information on the CMA exam, including a suggested reading list, as well as information on registration and preparation.
CPA: Certified Public AccountantCertified Public Accountant (CPA) is the statutory title of qualified accountants in the United States who have passed the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination. Link provides information on the uniform CPA exam, as well as details on how to register for an exam. Tutorials, study materials, sample tests, newsletters and passing rates are also available.
EA: Enrolled AgentAn Enrolled Agent (or EA) is a federally-authorized tax practitioner who has technical expertise in the field of taxation and who is empowered by the U.S. Department of the Treasury to represent taxpayers before all administrative levels of the Internal Revenue Service for audits, collections, and appeals. Link provides information on EA requirements as well as resources to help you obtain your EA.
