Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AMA Guide - 11th Edition: Database Specific Formatting

Explicit instructions for paper format are not given in the AMA manual because publishers provide specific requirements for submitted manuscripts. 

These research paper format recommendations are based on the manual content, but the library staff recommend that you follow any specific formatting instructions provided by your instructor. 

Note: Your professor may have specific or additional requirements not listed in this guide.

Databases with Specific Formatting Recommendations

UpToDate

UpToDate states to cite topics as a chapter in the book UpToDate, edited by the article's deputy editor(s), and the date of retrieval. While UpToDate does not include the URL at the end of the citation, the AMA Manual recommends including it. 

Author InIn. Section title. UpToDate; most recent copyright year. Accessed [date]. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/xxxxxxxx

Nieman LK. Measurement of cortisol in serum and saliva. UpToDate; 2018.  Accessed July 12, 2018. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/measurement-of-cortisol-in-serum-and-saliva

 

STAT!Ref

Cite the original source. Use the bibliography tool located at the bottom of each section to find the citation information. STAT!Ref ebooks do not include page numbers, so exclude the page numbers after the year.  

Example for a chapter from The 5-Minute Clinical Consult:

Domino FJ, Golding J, Stephens MB, et al., eds. What is evidence-based medicine? In: The 5-Minute Clinical Consult. 27th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Health; 2019. Accessed February 1, 2019. http://online.statref.com/Document.aspx?docAddress=mHtHUWXzkHdYq7OOMP8bVw!! 

 

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is cited like a journal article. For CDSR issues, the year is both the published date and the volume number. Instead of repeating the year in the citation, leave out the year as the published date but retain it as the volume number. In addition, the CDSR recommends giving the article number in place of the page numbers. 

Author InIn, Author InIn. Title of review. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. YEAR(Issue#):CD00XXX. Accessed [date]. doi:10.XXXX/XXXXXXXX.CD00XXXX.pubX.  

Cooney GM, Dwan K, Greig CA, et al. Exercise for depression. Cochrane Database of Syst Rev. 2013(9):CD004366. Accessed November 6, 2018. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD004366.pub6 

 

Micromedex

IBM Micromedex states that "when referencing a Micromedex product or database, you must include: (electronic version), IBM Watson Health information, URL address (https://www.micromedexsolutions.com/) and the date accessed." 

Drug name. Micromedex (electronic version). IBM Watson Health; 2019. Accessed [date]. https://www.micromedexsolutions.com 

Amoxicillin. Micromedex (electronic version). IBM Watson Health; 2019. Accessed January 15, 2019.  https://www.micromedexsolutions.com

 

Lexicomp

Drug name. Lexicomp. Wolters Kluwer Health; 2019. Accessed [date]. http://online.lexi.com 

Amoxicillin. Lexicomp. Wolters Kluwer Health; 2019. Accessed January 15, 2019. http://online.lexi.com