Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy

This is a learning guide designed to teach students about information literacy and why it matters.

Library Databases

The library subscribes to a number of databases that cover a broad variety of subjects and content types. The databases have been selected to support the specific programs of South College. Through these databases, you have free access to high-quality journal articles and other scholarly resources. You can access resources directly from these databases through the library's database list, and articles from the full text journal databases are also accessible through the Library Search box and Advanced Search.

Library Search Box

Library Search and Advanced Search Using Boolean Operators

Combine key terms by using Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) for a more focused search of the library's collection. Watch the short tutorial (below) to learn how to use Boolean operators when doing a search through the Library Search box or Advanced Search. 

Advanced Search Example Using Boolean Operators

This is an example of a search. Let's say you are researching how childhood obesity correlates with academic performance in elementary school children.

1) Putting childhood obesity in quotation marks (" ") will guarantee the search results to include this phrase.

2) Putting OR between these related keywords will broaden your search to related topics on academic performance.

3) Putting OR between elementary and primary makes sure you do not miss results using this synonym.

4) Specifying NOT to exclude high school or secondary education allows you to make sure you're only getting sources for the age group specified by your question.