Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Newsletter: 2021, Issue 1, Winter Quarter

Quarterly quick tips and intros about the Library Department for students.

Winter 2021

In This Edition: 

•    Test Prep
•    Did You Know? Library FAQs
•    Resource Highlight: AMA Guide & Online Manual

Test Prep
Are you going to take a challenge exam, a standardized test, or a test for entry into nursing school or for professional certification, such as the NCLEX or PRAXIS exams? The library’s Test Preparation Guide provides free and library subscription resources and book recommendations for studying and practicing for many of these exams. Students can also visit their state library’s free online resources, generally available through the public library system, for additional options.    

Did you know? 
Library FAQs
The library website includes a searchable FAQ for commonly asked questions about the library & library services.  You can use the FAQ after hours when chat is closed to find answers. If an answer is not available, submit your question as a ticket to receive a response from a librarian.  In addition to general questions, the FAQ also includes answers to questions about Interlibrary Loan and online/distance education services. 

Use the “Search our FAQ” box on the library homepage to look up answers to commonly asked library questions.  

Resource Highlight
AMA Guide & AMA Manual of Style Online
Using AMA style for your papers?  The library includes an online AMA Guide with recommendations for paper formatting, in-text citations, and references, including recommendations for special databases and social media.  In addition, the library website provides access to the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style ebook.  The ebook includes a searchable table of contents leading you to individual sections of the manual that can be downloaded for future reference.  Need additional help? Contact a librarian through any of the options below. 

Contact Us
About Us 
Email: scref@south.edu 
Call: 865-251-1832
Text: 865-217-7631
Or drop a question in our Ask a Librarian chat online

Thank you for reading!